biotech
Bio-AnalystSupplement research
person

Vitamin D

Selected research topic

Nutrient status

Some measured outcomes improved in human comparison studies. Read these findings with their populations and conditions.

Findings from a combination study cannot be attributed to this ingredient alone.

Animal and cell findings do not establish the same effect in people.

Some findings concern patients or people with a deficiency.

Publications for this topic
24
Human comparison publications
1
Publications needing review
19

Findings in the studies

  • 25(OH)D concentrations

    • A better result than the comparison group was reported.
      Patient group · Single ingredient
      Measurement and study conditions
      Study type
      Randomized controlled trial: subjects were randomly assigned to groups for comparison.
      Study population
      Human participants · Patient group
      Ingredients tested
      Single ingredient
      How results were compared
      Results were compared between groups. · Study comparison: 400, 2000, or 4000 IU/day vitamin D3 through delivery; dose groups compared
      Additional measurement information
      Primary outcome
      Measurement time
      at delivery and one month before delivery
  • serum 25(OH) D

    Other human research, including observational studies and reviews
    • A change was reported before and after use. Its cause cannot be isolated.
      Deficiency group · Single ingredient
      Measurement and study conditions
      Study type
      Randomized controlled trial: subjects were randomly assigned to groups for comparison.
      Study population
      Human participants · Deficiency group
      Ingredients tested
      Single ingredient
      How results were compared
      Changes within the same group were compared. · Study comparison: within-group serum 25(OH)D change in D3 arm; placebo arm remained unchanged, direct between-group es
      Additional measurement information
      Biomarker
      Measurement time
      phase 1 and phase 2, each 3 months
  • serum vitamin D

    Other human research, including observational studies and reviews
    • A change was reported before and after use. Its cause cannot be isolated.
      Patient group · Single ingredient · 12 weeks
      Measurement and study conditions
      Study type
      Clinical trial
      Study population
      Human participants · Patient group
      Ingredients tested
      Single ingredient
      How results were compared
      Changes within the same group were compared. · Study comparison: pre/post within-patient change; no control group described
      Additional measurement information
      Biomarker
      Measurement time
      12 weeks
  • serum 25-hydroxyvitamin D3 levels

    Animal and cell research · indirect evidence
    • A change was reported in animal or cell research.

      Several ingredients were tested together, so this ingredient’s individual effect is unknown.

      Combination study · 16 weeks
      Measurement and study conditions
      Study type
      Controlled trial
      Study population
      This is animal research. The specific characteristics of the subjects need further review.
      Ingredients tested
      Ingredient combination
      How results were compared
      Comparison unclear · Study comparison: Vitamin-D-withdrawal diet in d-galactose-induced aging mice versus vitamin-D-sufficient condition
      Additional measurement information
      Biomarker
      Measurement time
      16 weeks
Other measured outcomes (1)
  • serum 25(OH)D levels

    Research with unclear study subject or type
    • A change was reported, but the comparison could not be confirmed.
      Single ingredient · varied across included studies
      Measurement and study conditions
      Study type
      Meta-analysis
      Study population
      Recorded population category: Patient group. Whether the research involved humans needs confirmation.
      Ingredients tested
      Single ingredient
      How results were compared
      Study comparison: Pooled population-intervention estimate; comparator not specified in abstract
      Additional measurement information
      Biomarker
      Measurement time
      varied across included studies

This result is held for interpretation. That does not mean research found no effect.

Outcome groups needing additional review (10)
  • 25(OH)D3 · Distinct papers needing additional review: 2Direction unclear: 2
  • 25-hydroxyvitaminD3 (25OHD3) blood levels · Distinct papers needing additional review: 1Direction unclear: 1
  • 25-OH-D3 concentration · Distinct papers needing additional review: 1Evidence criteria check: 1
  • 25OHD · Distinct papers needing additional review: 1Evidence criteria check: 1
  • fractional calcium absorption · Distinct papers needing additional review: 1Direction unclear: 1
  • intestinal P and Ca absorption · Distinct papers needing additional review: 1Evidence criteria check: 1
  • serum 25(OH)D · Distinct papers needing additional review: 1Evidence criteria check: 1
  • serum levels of 25(OH)D · Distinct papers needing additional review: 1Evidence criteria check: 1
  • total 25(OH)D · Distinct papers needing additional review: 1Evidence criteria check: 1
  • vitamin D levels · Distinct papers needing additional review: 1Evidence criteria check: 1

One paper can appear under multiple measured outcomes or review reasons, so these counts should not be added together.

Representative outcome and study details

Partial research summary

Studies with an unspecified organism reported a change with no confirmed comparison group in serum 25(OH)D levels.

These conditions come from related studies and may not describe a single paper.

Single-ingredient studies · Scope not specified · Human studies · Includes patient groups · comparator not confirmed

3 publications linked to this result (2 awaiting review included)

  • Study conditions differ; results are shown descriptively and are not pooled.
  • Some publications have not cleared source or interpretation review.
  • Some papers could not be reviewed, so this summary covers only findings that could be confirmed.
Data coverage and detailed study classifications

Paper counts are separated by research topic below. One paper may contribute to multiple findings.

Analysis status: Public-ready

Ingredient analysis date:

How the grade was determined: C

The 49.3 evidence score includes 2 independent human studies and 2 clinical studies in the representative benefit area. The C tier remains conservative because of the evidence centers on contextual or measured outcomes rather than general-use effects, limited repetition across independent human clinical studies.

The grade is based mainly on the research area with the most evidence. It does not mean the same result was found in other areas.

Papers linked to this ingredient overall: 126

Papers linked to this topic 24 · distinct papers 24 · papers with a confirmed human comparison 1 · papers needing additional review 19

A publication may appear in more than one count. These numbers should not be added. Ingredient-wide papers, topic-linked papers, and sources in outcome groups use different scopes. Adding source counts may count the same paper more than once.

  • 25(OH)D concentrations: Sources represented in this measurement group: 2 · Distinct papers with human comparisons for this outcome: 1
  • 25(OH)D3: Sources represented in this measurement group: 2 · Distinct papers with human comparisons for this outcome: 0
  • 25-hydroxyvitaminD3 (25OHD3) blood levels: Sources represented in this measurement group: 1 · Distinct papers with human comparisons for this outcome: 0
  • 25-OH-D3 concentration: Sources represented in this measurement group: 1 · Distinct papers with human comparisons for this outcome: 0
  • 25OHD: Sources represented in this measurement group: 1 · Distinct papers with human comparisons for this outcome: 0
  • fractional calcium absorption: Sources represented in this measurement group: 1 · Distinct papers with human comparisons for this outcome: 0
  • intestinal P and Ca absorption: Sources represented in this measurement group: 1 · Distinct papers with human comparisons for this outcome: 0
  • serum 25(OH) D: Sources represented in this measurement group: 1 · Distinct papers with human comparisons for this outcome: 0
  • serum 25(OH)D: Sources represented in this measurement group: 1 · Distinct papers with human comparisons for this outcome: 0
  • serum 25(OH)D levels: Sources represented in this measurement group: 3 · Distinct papers with human comparisons for this outcome: 0
  • serum 25-hydroxyvitamin D3 levels: Sources represented in this measurement group: 1 · Distinct papers with human comparisons for this outcome: 0
  • serum levels of 25(OH)D: Sources represented in this measurement group: 1 · Distinct papers with human comparisons for this outcome: 0
  • serum vitamin D: Sources represented in this measurement group: 1 · Distinct papers with human comparisons for this outcome: 0
  • total 25(OH)D: Sources represented in this measurement group: 1 · Distinct papers with human comparisons for this outcome: 0
  • vitamin D levels: Sources represented in this measurement group: 1 · Distinct papers with human comparisons for this outcome: 0

What the research found

25(OH)D concentrations

The study reported improvement in this measurement.

Controlled study in people · Single ingredient · Patient group

Between-group comparison

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

serum 25(OH) D

A change was reported before and after use. Its cause cannot be isolated.

Controlled study in people · Single ingredient · Deficiency group

Within-group comparison

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

serum vitamin D

A change was reported before and after use. Its cause cannot be isolated.

Other evidence · Single ingredient · Patient group

Within-group comparison

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

serum 25(OH)D levels

A change was reported, but the comparison could not be confirmed.

Meta-analysis · Single ingredient · Patient group

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

Review overlap with primary papers is unknown; counts stay separate.

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

serum 25-hydroxyvitamin D3 levels

A change was reported in animal or cell research.

Animal study · indirect · Ingredient combination · Deficiency group

This finding comes from animal or cell research. It does not establish the same effect in people.

Several ingredients were used together. This does not establish the effect of this ingredient alone or synergy.

The comparison could not be confirmed.

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

25(OH)D concentrations

The study needs further checking before its result can be interpreted.

Meta-analysis · Single ingredient · General population

The comparison could not be confirmed.

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

1 papers held from direction counts

Review overlap with primary papers is unknown; counts stay separate.

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

25(OH)D3

The study needs further checking before its result can be interpreted.

Observational study · Single ingredient · Patient group

The comparison could not be confirmed.

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

1 papers held from direction counts

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

25(OH)D3

The study needs further checking before its result can be interpreted.

Observational study · Unknown intervention · General population

The comparison could not be confirmed.

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

1 papers held from direction counts

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

25-hydroxyvitaminD3 (25OHD3) blood levels

The study needs further checking before its result can be interpreted.

Observational study · Single ingredient · Unspecified population

The comparison could not be confirmed.

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

1 papers held from direction counts

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

25-OH-D3 concentration

The study needs further checking before its result can be interpreted.

Animal study · indirect · Unknown intervention · Unspecified population

This finding comes from animal or cell research. It does not establish the same effect in people.

The comparison could not be confirmed.

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

1 papers held from direction counts

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

25OHD

The study needs further checking before its result can be interpreted.

Meta-analysis · Single ingredient · General population

The comparison could not be confirmed.

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

1 papers held from direction counts

Review overlap with primary papers is unknown; counts stay separate.

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

fractional calcium absorption

The study needs further checking before its result can be interpreted.

Controlled study in people · Single ingredient · Unspecified population

The comparison could not be confirmed.

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

1 papers held from direction counts

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

intestinal P and Ca absorption

The study needs further checking before its result can be interpreted.

Animal study · indirect · Single ingredient · Unspecified population

This finding comes from animal or cell research. It does not establish the same effect in people.

The comparison could not be confirmed.

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

1 papers held from direction counts

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

serum 25(OH)D

The study needs further checking before its result can be interpreted.

Review · Unknown intervention · General population

The comparison could not be confirmed.

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

1 papers held from direction counts

Review overlap with primary papers is unknown; counts stay separate.

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

serum 25(OH)D levels

The study needs further checking before its result can be interpreted.

Controlled study in people · Single ingredient · Patient group

The comparison could not be confirmed.

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

1 papers held from direction counts

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

serum 25(OH)D levels

The study needs further checking before its result can be interpreted.

Observational study · Unknown intervention · General population

The comparison could not be confirmed.

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

1 papers held from direction counts

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

serum levels of 25(OH)D

The study needs further checking before its result can be interpreted.

Controlled study in people · Single ingredient · Patient group

Within-group comparison

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

1 papers held from direction counts

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

total 25(OH)D

The study needs further checking before its result can be interpreted.

Meta-analysis · Unknown intervention · General population

The comparison could not be confirmed.

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

1 papers held from direction counts

Review overlap with primary papers is unknown; counts stay separate.

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

Unspecified measured outcome

The study needs further checking before its result can be interpreted.

Controlled study in people · Single ingredient · Patient group

The comparison could not be confirmed.

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

1 papers held from direction counts

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

Unspecified measured outcome

The study needs further checking before its result can be interpreted.

Controlled study in people · Single ingredient · Unspecified population

The comparison could not be confirmed.

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

1 papers held from direction counts

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

Unspecified measured outcome

The study needs further checking before its result can be interpreted.

Meta-analysis · Unknown intervention · Unspecified population

The comparison could not be confirmed.

Analysis coverage and paper counts

2 papers · 2 measured outcomes

2 papers held from direction counts

Review overlap with primary papers is unknown; counts stay separate.

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

Unspecified measured outcome

The study needs further checking before its result can be interpreted.

Review · Unknown intervention · Unspecified population

The comparison could not be confirmed.

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

1 papers held from direction counts

Review overlap with primary papers is unknown; counts stay separate.

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

vitamin D levels

The study needs further checking before its result can be interpreted.

Controlled study in people · Single ingredient · Deficiency group

Between-group comparison

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

1 papers held from direction counts

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

How to read research findings

How should I read research findings?

Research guides

Side effects and combination findings

Findings from this ingredient alone are shown separately from those involving another supplement or medication.

No reviewed caution rules are available yet. Reported caution findings are shown below.

Review 3 combination findings and 0 findings that outperformed an ingredient alone.

Findings to review with care

Side effects reported for the ingredient alone are separated from findings involving another supplement or medication.

Side effects reported with this ingredient alone

Symptoms or adverse events reported in studies without another active ingredient.

adverse reactions (e.g., hypercalciuria, hypervitaminosis D, kidney stones, gastrointestinal symptoms, mild itch)1 papers
Six studies reported adverse reactions potentially attributable to vitamin D, occurring across treatment and control arms.Human studies · Meta-analysis

Reported improvements with combinations

Combination findings are grouped by how the study compared them. This is not a recommendation to combine ingredients.

Combinations with reported improvement

The combination showed improvement, but each ingredient's contribution is unclear.

오메가-3Combined vitamin D and omega-3 fatty acids showed a 31% reduction in autoimmune disease incidence compared to placebo, suggesting a potential additive effect.
BCAACombination with Vitamin D significantly improved appendicular skeletal muscle mass/height2 compared to control.
마그네슘Co-supplementation with Vitamin D and Magnesium resulted in significant improvements in behavioral function and mental health scores compared to placebo.