biotech
Bio-AnalystSupplement research
person

D-Ribose

Selected research topic

Blood lipids

The available findings are indirect evidence from animal or cell research. They do not establish the same effects in people.

Some publications still need interpretation checks and are kept separate from the findings below.

Publications for this topic
2
Human comparison publications
0
Publications needing review
1

Findings in the studies

  • glycates HDL

    Animal and cell research · indirect evidence
    • A change was reported in animal or cell research.
      Single ingredient
      Measurement and study conditions
      Study type
      Controlled trial
      Study population
      This is cell research. The specific characteristics of the subjects need further review.
      Ingredients tested
      Single ingredient
      How results were compared
      Comparison unclear · Study comparison: D-ribose-induced HDL glycation and protein modifications in isolated HDL
      Additional measurement information
      Mechanistic outcome
      Measurement time
      In-vitro exposure; duration not stated
Representative outcome and study details

Cell studies reported worsening in glycates HDL.

Single-ingredient studies · Cell or in-vitro studies; human applicability unconfirmed · Population not specified · comparator not confirmed

1 publications linked to this result

  • Route, form, dose, or population details are incomplete, so the findings cannot be confirmed as directly comparable.
  • Animal and cell findings are indirect evidence.
Data coverage and detailed study classifications

Paper counts are separated by research topic below. One paper may contribute to multiple findings.

Analysis status: Public-ready

Ingredient analysis date:

How the grade was determined: Not yet rated

The 0.0 evidence score includes 3 independent human studies and 3 clinical studies in the representative benefit area. The C tier remains conservative because of limited repetition across independent human clinical studies, a meaningful share of null findings in the same benefit area.

The grade is based mainly on the research area with the most evidence. It does not mean the same result was found in other areas.

Papers linked to this ingredient overall: 52

Papers linked to this topic 2 · distinct papers 2 · comparison findings need further review · papers needing additional review 1

A publication may appear in more than one count. These numbers should not be added. Ingredient-wide papers, topic-linked papers, and sources in outcome groups use different scopes. Adding source counts may count the same paper more than once.

  • glycates HDL: Sources represented in this measurement group: 1 · Distinct papers with human comparisons for this outcome: 0

What the research found

glycates HDL

A change was reported in animal or cell research.

Cell study · indirect · Single ingredient · Unspecified population

This finding comes from animal or cell research. It does not establish the same effect in people.

The comparison could not be confirmed.

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

Unspecified measured outcome

The study needs further checking before its result can be interpreted.

Other evidence · Single ingredient · Unspecified population

The comparison could not be confirmed.

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

1 papers held from direction counts

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

How to read research findings

How should I read research findings?

Research guides

Side effects and combination findings

Findings from this ingredient alone are shown separately from those involving another supplement or medication.

No reviewed caution rules are available yet. Reported caution findings are shown below.

Review 1 combination findings and 0 findings that outperformed an ingredient alone.

Findings to review with care

Side effects reported for the ingredient alone are separated from findings involving another supplement or medication.

Side effects reported with this ingredient alone

Symptoms or adverse events reported in studies without another active ingredient.

Cytotoxicity1 papers
The review highlights potential negative effects of D‑ribose, including increased glycation and cytotoxicity, suggesting caution in its use.Human studies · Study type not identified

Reported improvements with combinations

Combination findings are grouped by how the study compared them. This is not a recommendation to combine ingredients.

Combinations with reported improvement

The combination showed improvement, but each ingredient's contribution is unclear.

크레아틴A double-blind RCT in 53 patients with ischemic heart disease found that a combination supplement containing D-ribose, creatine, and vitamins improved cardiac double product and exercise tolerance compared to placebo, though the authors note the surrogate measure requires further validation.